Work In Progress

Those of you that follow this blog probably have read many times that I have been working on myself and building a better version of myself for about 3 years now.  It has been a VERY slow process, but I never let that get me down.  Slow progress is still progress in the right direction.  Plus, you wouldn’t want to lose too much weight too quickly!  (It’s easier to gain back!)  Although I view myself and my body differently then everyone else – You are your worst critic!- I had this heart to heart conversation with my Mom this past Saturday and I want to let you in on the conversation to let you know that you aren’t alone in this fight!

This past weekend was my hubby’s Annual Work Christmas Party and I had a dressed picked out that I felt comfortable in.  Problem for me is, that I don’t see personally in myself what I see in pictures!  I know CRAZY right!  I have always struggled with my weight, but now seems to be the worst time I’ve had.  I guess because it is so easy sometimes to fall off the wagon and just give in to temptation and I don’t want to go backwards!

I told my Mom this weekend that some people may think I am “In Love with looking at myself” because when my Mom takes pictures of me I do spend time looking (staring) at them.  I can honestly tell you though that it is not because I am in “LOVE” with myself…. It’s because I am trying to get my brain to connect that I physically look a particular way and make my brain make me feel that I look that way!  I think it’s hard for your brain to adjust when you’ve been overweight to adjust to a new healthier you.  It’s something that I struggle with DAILY!  I struggle to see myself the way everyone else see’s me and I think it is all mental!

So this weekend, we stopped by my Mom’s house so she could take some pictures of us all dressed up…It’s rare that we are dressed up like this!  I decided to do a side by side of 2 pictures – One is from Christmas 2013 and then this past weekend.  The picture from 2013 is one where I felt confident because I had already lost a significant amount of weight.  I LOVED my dress and I felt GREAT!  Fast forward to now, and I’ve lost even more weight (closer to my end goal) and I feel even better!  I never thought I’d be where I am today in my journey, but it is one that I am so thankful for!  Without trying out new things and new nutritional options, I wouldn’t be where I am today!  I am still continuing to work on myself and build a healthier version of myself!  You are always a “Work In Progress!”Christmas 20132015 comparison

These 2 pictures side by side, give me motivation to keep pushing!  Although it has been a 3 year process, it is a process that will never end!  When you Build a Better You, it is a lifetime process not a “Quick Fix!”  This journey has been a long and hard road, but I would not change any part of it!


Leave a comment